What’s so special about comfort food, anyway? Congee Noodle House

Comfort. What does that word mean to you? Particularly, in a culinary sense? We have associated comfort with all of our senses. When we are confronted with anything that our senses are attracted to, we feel a certain attachment to it, especially if it had a significance in our previous years. For comfort food, that is no difference. Food that you ate growing up will always have a special place in your heart. Whether it be the lunch that your mom made for you, that you dreaded because you ate it so much and wished you had someone else’s lunch, or the steaming bowl of noodles that your grandparents made for you and your cousins. Or, it could be as simple and quick as having kids sized fries at McDonalds.

As we begin to grow up and inch away from our childhood, we begin to realize how much we took that food for granted. It’s only when you move away, or live away from home until you realize that you actually miss the food that your parents, or whomever cooked for you when you were young. Food plays an integral role in our lives, physically and mentally. We associate different foods with different moods, times in our lives, and most importantly, comfort. Life is harder when you depart childhood, and it usually takes the harder way to find that out. We begin to stray away from our parents, and crave independence because we want to be like the cooler, older teenagers or adults. But sometimes, life isn’t always that easy and you would give anything to be a child again. Or asking your grandpa for a bowl of noodles and playing with toys until he brought it to the table, his frail, wrinkled hands weighed by age, farm work, and hard work his whole life.  When I moved to a new city for the first time in my life, away from my family, I subconsciously found myself always buying the same type of vegetables that my grandpa would make noodles for me with. I would boil it until it tasted like my childhood noodle soup. It was then, that I realized how much I missed my hometown.

If you’re still reading, congratulations, I didn’t expect anyone to actually read this far. Comfort food is amazing. It is amazing how a single plate of food has the ability and power to bring back feelings or memories that you totally forgot about. Life is a whirlwind, and we often forget to stop to think about our past memories. But when you see that pack of chips or gummies, you are automatically brought back to a time of childhood freedom and imagination that you have completely forgotten about because you are too busy working. Comfort food brings you back to your senses, and warms your heart when you feel alone. If it doesn’t warm your heart, then that’s not your bowl, plate, or bite of comfort food.
photo jkjkjkjdsfThese dishes right here are some of my own comfort foods. Vermicelli noodles in soup and late night deep fried tofu. The first time I came here was when I was out of town for five days, and craved comfort food. I think that’s why I love this place more than other Chinese restaurants, because it reminds me of that night I was on the bus for 5 hours, thinking about how much I loved my city. I’m sorry if you expected a food review of this restaurant, and wound up with a bunch of midnight writing jargon from me instead. I felt like writing something more personal today. I’ve been meaning to put up my usual blog post on this restaurant, but I can’t seem to do it. There’s so much comfort food at this place for me, that it would be extremely bias and no amount of metaphors, compliments, or reviews I could come up with would possibly satisfy my attachment to this place.  Yes, it may not be that amazing here, because emotions aside and honestly speaking, it’s your little-bit-better-than-average Chinese restaurant here. But when associating this place with the notion of MY comfort food, it has one of my top spots and no one can take away my appreciation for this little joint right here.

-Carmen

Congee Noodle House 粥麵館 on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. […] all hungry and looking for a late restaurant to feed our hungry tummies. We were going to go to Congee Noodle House, but knew it would be busy since all the Chinese families that attended the graduation would […]

sometimes, you have things to say too.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

